Department for Democracy and Public Law

The Department for Democracy and Public Law is responsible for tasks related to fundamental rights policy, legislation in the field of public law, and implementation of electoral and other participatory rights. The Department promotes equality, good relations between different ethnic groups, and realisation of linguistic rights. It is also responsible for coordinating Saami affairs.

The Department drafts legislation in the fields of constitutional law, administrative law, administrative judicial procedure, data protection, and openness of government activities. The Department is responsible for Åland affairs and expert duties related to EU law.

The Department is also responsible for the performance guidance of the Office of the Data Protection Ombudsman, the Office of the Ombudsman for Children, the Office of the Ombudsman for Equality, and the Office of the Non-Discrimination Ombudsman.

The Department for Democracy and Public Law consists of four units: Democracy and Elections, EU Law and Data Protection, Autonomy and Equality, and Public Law.

The Department is headed by Director General Johanna Suurpää.

Democracy and Elections

Head of Unit Niklas Wilhelmsson

EU Law and Data Protection

Head of Unit Tia Möller

Autonomy and Equality

Head of Unit Corinna Tammenmaa

Public Law

Head of Unit Timo Makkonen