Skip to content

New Advisory Board for Ethnic Relations appointed

Ministry of Justice
Publication date 11.2.2016 13.26
Press release

Today, on 11 February, the Government appointed the Advisory Board for Ethnic Relations ETNO for the next four-year term from 2016 to 2020.

The Advisory Board works under the auspices of the Ministry of Justice. Its mission is to promote cooperation between immigrants, ethnic minorities, public authorities, political parties and NGOs.

The Board forms a network of experts specialising in questions relating to migration, integration, equality and dialogue between different population groups. It can make proposals in order to, for example, promote immigrants' and ethnic minorities' participation and exercise of influence, and build an atmosphere of positive attitudes between different population groups.

The Advisory Board does not make binding decisions but it can exert influence by making available its expertise, by being active and by making initiatives on such matters as migration and integration policy.

The Board is chaired by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Justice. The Board has a total of 34 members.

Besides the national Advisory Board, there are seven regional advisory boards for ethnic relations.


Mr Peter Kariuki, Secretary General of the Advisory Board for Ethnic Relations, tel. +358 2951 50191, and
Ms Nina Suorsa, Secretary of the Advisory Board for Ethnic Relations, tel. +358 358 2951 50279, email: [email protected]

Members of the national Advisory Board for 2016–2020

Jari Lindström
Back to top